Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Frequent questions asked online, offline, in forums are answered here
joseocasio
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:33 am

Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby joseocasio » Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:30 pm

Hello I have been having an issue trying to make a copter stay still when in loiter mode by using the Marvelmind indoor "GPS"

We are seeing that the drone starts to oscillate about 2-3 feet. I have contacted ArduCopter on this issue because I initially thought it was a Firmware GPS accuracy issue, bit they pointed me to you.

Here is their response from one of the developers

One of the issues is the marvelmind FW. It does not provide the RAW distances to the beacons so that we can feed them in our EKF. So until marvelmind fixes this (they know the problem) we can not do anything about it. And please change the title of your post to "Copter indoor Marvelmind accuracy"

Once they fix it, ping me and I will update the Marvelmind device driver.


Can you help me to fix this?

Aerobat
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:53 pm

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby Aerobat » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:56 pm

I would also like to see this implemented ASAP as we are experiencing similar issues with our indoor quadcopter system.

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby admin » Wed Nov 01, 2017 11:55 pm

Aerobat wrote:I would also like to see this implemented ASAP as we are experiencing similar issues with our indoor quadcopter system.



The raw data has been implemented :-)
However, it is not the Indoor "GPS" issue. It is an interface issue. As far as know, ArduCopter guys are now updating their part too.

nmarchais
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:17 am

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby nmarchais » Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:19 am

Any update from Arducopter team ? Is it implemented on their side ? If yes, which firmware version is ready to use ?

nmarchais
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:17 am

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby nmarchais » Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:19 am

Any update from Arducopter team ? Is it implemented on their side ? If yes, which firmware version is ready to use ?

nmarchais
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 1:17 am

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby nmarchais » Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:56 am

One more up...

smoker77
Posts: 194
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 4:03 pm

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby smoker77 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 1:05 pm

Hello,
As I found, now Arducopter supports getting raw distances from Marvelmind system.
Here is source with reading raw data (process_beacons_distances_datagram):
https://github.com/ArduPilot/ardupilot/ ... elmind.cpp
Here is an instruction which requires the raw ditances output to be enabled:
http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-marvelmind.html

taurusactinium
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby taurusactinium » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:05 am

smoker77 wrote:Hello,
As I found, now Arducopter supports getting raw distances from Marvelmind system.
Here is source with reading raw data (process_beacons_distances_datagram):
https://github.com/ArduPilot/ardupilot/ ... elmind.cpp
Here is an instruction which requires the raw ditances output to be enabled:
http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-marvelmind.html

Thanks for the link.

Finn
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:53 pm

Re: Quad Copter GPS Accuracy - Raw data

Postby Finn » Thu Nov 08, 2018 7:59 pm

Hi Guys,
I am currently having problems with the posted manual.
So I am trying to connect the Pixhawk1 as discribed in the manual.
Since 12 days the 3.6 Version is declared stable, but I can't find the mentioned parameter "BCN_TYPE".

Can someone help?

Thanks alot


Return to “FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests