I cant upload firmware using DFU mode

Frequent questions asked online, offline, in forums are answered here
Post Reply
ikerlan
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2022 10:26 am

I cant upload firmware using DFU mode

Post by ikerlan »

Hello,

I have one super beacon that my dashboard doesnt recognizes. So i try to upload using dfu mode. I follow step by step the manual but Dfuse demo is not able to detect de device.

I try different version of dfuse demo. I try in virual machine using windows 7 (using lower versions of dfuse) and nothing.Swiches are well configurated.

Now i am trying with windows 10 and nothing. Is there another way to flash the device? Using other software o configurating something in windows.

I dont know what more can i do.

Thanks,

Xabier

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: I cant upload firmware using DFU mode

Post by admin »

Hello Xabier,

Have you succeeded with DFU mode with other beacons? Please, try with them first and then move to your unresponsive beacon.

Make sure you installed: https://marvelmind.com/pics/stm32_vcp.zip.

As discussed in the email, there are different combinations of DFuse vs Window versions and different versions work for different people.

- v3.0.6: https://marvelmind.com/pics/en.stsw-stm32080_v3.0.6.zip
- v3.0.5: https://marvelmind.com/pics/DfuSe_Demo_V3.0.5_Setup.zip

If needed, search even for older versions: v3.0.3, v3.0.4. Again, it is all about a combination DfuSe vs. Windows.

If that doesn't help, then very likely you simply don't have the STM driver properly installed:
- Delete the STM/DFU bootloader device WITH drivers from your list of devices. With drivers! Otherwise, a rouge driver will stay and you will still have an issue
- Install DFU once again
- Repeat, if needed, for different DfuSe versions

Try different combinations and on different computers. DFU such a low thing - 90% of a Super-Beacon may be dead, but, if processor and power for it are alive, DFU will work. Thus, either Dfuse or a driver are the most likely candidates for the issue.

BR,
Maxim
P.S. we found an older reply as well: - https://www.marvelmind.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=294

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: I cant upload firmware using DFU mode

Post by admin »

One of our customers (thank you very much, Mike!) found a solution that worked for him. Here is the link:
- https://community.st.com/s/question/0D5 ... 32-devices

Post Reply