Page 1 of 1

Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:04 pm
by Autodrone
Hello everyone,

we are about to develop an autonomous flying drone using Marvelmind indoor GPS and the Pixhawk 4, but we have some problems with the integration of Marvelmind indoor GPS and Pixhawk 4. The Marvelmind works without big problems, but we never get the message "3D Fix" when integrating it into the Mission Planner.
We tried several integration options:

1) A first attempt was the integration according to the following link: http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-marvelmind.html.
We have only made these settings in the parameter list and with the Hedgehog we use the Marvelmind protocol in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. After we have made all the settings, we receive the message "GPS: No GPS" in the HUD.

2) Second, we have tried the integration according to the following instructions: https://www.robotshop.com/media/files/pdf2/pixhawk_marvelmind_integration_manual.pdf.
We have used the attached parameter list and use NMEA 1803 in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. The NMEA messages are also enabled.
Here we get the message "GPS: No Fix" in the HUD. However, any slight changes to the parameters, as indicated in some forums, will not help to get the message "GPS: 3D Fix".


For the wiring we have tried the options on the Pixhawk 4 via the Telem1 or the UART & I2C as well as the GPS connection. But we don't know which is the right alternative? We suspect it, via the GPS module.

We have tried a lot and don't know what else to do to get "3D Fix". Do you have any experience with the Pixhawk 4 and the integration of the Marvelmind GPS with the Pixhawk 4? Does anyone have any ideas about what we're doing wrong or what we can try out to make progress?

Best regards,
Autodrone

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:24 pm
by admin
Autodrone wrote:Hello everyone,

we are about to develop an autonomous flying drone using Marvelmind indoor GPS and the Pixhawk 4, but we have some problems with the integration of Marvelmind indoor GPS and Pixhawk 4. The Marvelmind works without big problems, but we never get the message "3D Fix" when integrating it into the Mission Planner.
We tried several integration options:

1) A first attempt was the integration according to the following link: http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-marvelmind.html.
We have only made these settings in the parameter list and with the Hedgehog we use the Marvelmind protocol in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. After we have made all the settings, we receive the message "GPS: No GPS" in the HUD.

2) Second, we have tried the integration according to the following instructions: https://www.robotshop.com/media/files/pdf2/pixhawk_marvelmind_integration_manual.pdf.
We have used the attached parameter list and use NMEA 1803 in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. The NMEA messages are also enabled.
Here we get the message "GPS: No Fix" in the HUD. However, any slight changes to the parameters, as indicated in some forums, will not help to get the message "GPS: 3D Fix".


For the wiring we have tried the options on the Pixhawk 4 via the Telem1 or the UART & I2C as well as the GPS connection. But we don't know which is the right alternative? We suspect it, via the GPS module.

We have tried a lot and don't know what else to do to get "3D Fix". Do you have any experience with the Pixhawk 4 and the integration of the Marvelmind GPS with the Pixhawk 4? Does anyone have any ideas about what we're doing wrong or what we can try out to make progress?

Best regards,
Autodrone




Hello colleagues,

We will check once again what can be added or corrected. It may take some days, at least. But we will do.

Meanwhile, community, if you have good hints, please, share.

Kind regards,
Maxim

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:30 pm
by davasp
Hi all.

We are also stuck trying to integrate marvelmind but we're using a pixhawk 2.1 (cube). We've tried any possible parameter combination on the receiving end using both NMEA and Marvelmid protocols. We could never get a positon reading using MM protocol, even after setting serial comms to "beacon" and forcing beacon type to "Marvelmind", and disabling GPS use in both EKF and AHRS.

We can get position information using NMEA, albeit with EKF flags in Velocity and position using certain parameter settings, and "Bad GPS Health" using others. Position tracking shown in Mission Planner is very jumpy and inaccurate when we use the second settings, But it tracks very well when we use the former... however, having those EKF flags, it wont let us arm in auto/loiter mode.

Please let me know how can we help, any input will also be gratly appreciated.

David.

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 7:38 am
by ifiksel
I have been working on this issue for a few weeks now. It's still not going into position hold but we do get a "GPS lock". I connected the hedgehog to the GPS port of the Pixhawk 4.

In Mission Planner, Enable EKF3, GPS is set to NMEA (5) at 115200 (115).
Also, there is a parameter to not check for satellites

In the MM Dashboard, in the hedgehog interface, set:
Uart interface = 115200
enable all NMEA messages
enable IMU fusion for location and speed
enable processed IMU data

"Bad GPS Health" means that the GPS update rate is below 5Hz. Make sure you have a good radio connection to fix this or if you don't have the 100Hz IMU license, I recommend getting it.

If you re-calibrate the Pixhawk accelerometer and compass you will get rid of most of the errors but I still get them.

I think in order to use auto mode you need to arm in stablize mode, increase the throttle and switch into auto mode. Don't take my word on this because I have not tried this yet.

I recommend following the Marvelmind + pixhawk integration manual. The Ardupilot firmware provided in the manual is for the FMUv2 and not for the FMUv5 in the Pixhawk 4. I don't know if this is the main reason for the system not integrating. Hopefully, the admin can clarify this.

Hope this helps

Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2019 8:52 pm
by avilahuerta
After setting up my starter kit (the Starter Set Super NIA-3D), i am now going to integrate it in my drone project. As far as I have seen in the forum, there seems to be two possibilities:

1.- Connect the hedgehog to the pixhawk control board using the GPS port and follow the instructions of
https://www.robotshop.com/media/files/p ... manual.pdf.

2.- Connect the hedgehog to one of the pixhawk telemetry ports (in my case it will be telem2 as I am using telem1 to conect a wifi module) and follow the instructions of ardupilot documentation found in http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-marvelmind.html.

If I follow the first option, it seems that I have to install an specific autopilot SW (found in https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B7tPlr ... sp=sharing as the integration manual says). This SW version seems not to be up to date with latests ardupilot SW, and uses a set of parameters specific to this version that might not be the same I have in my drone (which is already calibrated and flying without marvelmind).

I have two questions: first which of the two options is recommended?; and second: is it possible to connect to the GPS port and follow the instructions of https://www.robotshop.com/media/files/p ... manual.pdf but using an standard ardupilot delivery (the last stable one)?

I would appreciate any suggestions on this. My first attempt will be option 2, so I do not modify the existing sw in my drone.

Thanks

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:07 pm
by smoker77
Hello,

First of these two options was tested in Marvelmind. It uses standard NMEA0183 GPS protocol, so flight controller works with Marvelmind mobile beacon as with regular GPS receiver. In manual we refer to the version of Ardupilot which we have tested, but I think more new versions should also work.

Second option is recommended by Ardupilot team. It uses non-standard Marvelmind protocol, which gives more special data to pixhawk, like distances to stationary beacons. So this option may be work better than first one, but it can work only with Pixhawk firmware supporting Marvelmind protocol (BCN_TYPE = 2 setting).

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Mon Jan 20, 2020 1:52 pm
by avilahuerta
Hello,

Thanks for your answer. I have started connecting the hedgehog to the GPS port of my pixhawk. I am using Arducopter 3.6.9. After configuration of both Marvelmind system and ardupilot, I get stable and accurate 3D tracking in dashboard.

However, in ardupilot, I have acuurate 2D tracking (X,Y) but not in Z (height). I receive the message GPS 3D fix in mission planer, and 2D tracking seems to work properly. But height readings are not good and are not stable while in dashboard Z readings are OK and stable.

Any hints on what might be going on?.

Thanks

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:55 pm
by smoker77
Hello,
May be Pixhawk is configured for using barometer or IMU or some another sensor for getting altitude instead of data from Marvelmind system?

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 12:19 pm
by avilahuerta
Hello

Thanks for your answer. In fact I have made some progress. I had the EK3_ALT_SOURCE configured as 3 (use beacon) and this was causing apparently the problem. I have changed it to 2 (meaning use GPS) and now it works better. At least I have stable readings of absolute altitude, consistent with the ones I see in dashboard. There is however a small difference (a few centimeters) between the values for Z as I see in dashboard and the absolute altitude I see by asking ardupilot (I use a python program to read the values). Latitude and Longitude seem to be ok.

I will try additional modifications in ardupilot parameters (mainly those related to EK3).

By the way, did anyone try to disable EKF when using Marvelmind as GPS? Does it work?

Thanks