Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Frequent questions asked online, offline, in forums are answered here
Autodrone
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 5:41 pm

Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Postby Autodrone » Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:04 pm

Hello everyone,

we are about to develop an autonomous flying drone using Marvelmind indoor GPS and the Pixhawk 4, but we have some problems with the integration of Marvelmind indoor GPS and Pixhawk 4. The Marvelmind works without big problems, but we never get the message "3D Fix" when integrating it into the Mission Planner.
We tried several integration options:

1) A first attempt was the integration according to the following link: http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-marvelmind.html.
We have only made these settings in the parameter list and with the Hedgehog we use the Marvelmind protocol in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. After we have made all the settings, we receive the message "GPS: No GPS" in the HUD.

2) Second, we have tried the integration according to the following instructions: https://www.robotshop.com/media/files/pdf2/pixhawk_marvelmind_integration_manual.pdf.
We have used the attached parameter list and use NMEA 1803 in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. The NMEA messages are also enabled.
Here we get the message "GPS: No Fix" in the HUD. However, any slight changes to the parameters, as indicated in some forums, will not help to get the message "GPS: 3D Fix".


For the wiring we have tried the options on the Pixhawk 4 via the Telem1 or the UART & I2C as well as the GPS connection. But we don't know which is the right alternative? We suspect it, via the GPS module.

We have tried a lot and don't know what else to do to get "3D Fix". Do you have any experience with the Pixhawk 4 and the integration of the Marvelmind GPS with the Pixhawk 4? Does anyone have any ideas about what we're doing wrong or what we can try out to make progress?

Best regards,
Autodrone

User avatar
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Postby admin » Tue Mar 26, 2019 4:24 pm

Autodrone wrote:Hello everyone,

we are about to develop an autonomous flying drone using Marvelmind indoor GPS and the Pixhawk 4, but we have some problems with the integration of Marvelmind indoor GPS and Pixhawk 4. The Marvelmind works without big problems, but we never get the message "3D Fix" when integrating it into the Mission Planner.
We tried several integration options:

1) A first attempt was the integration according to the following link: http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-marvelmind.html.
We have only made these settings in the parameter list and with the Hedgehog we use the Marvelmind protocol in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. After we have made all the settings, we receive the message "GPS: No GPS" in the HUD.

2) Second, we have tried the integration according to the following instructions: https://www.robotshop.com/media/files/pdf2/pixhawk_marvelmind_integration_manual.pdf.
We have used the attached parameter list and use NMEA 1803 in the Marvelmind to send the GPS signal. The NMEA messages are also enabled.
Here we get the message "GPS: No Fix" in the HUD. However, any slight changes to the parameters, as indicated in some forums, will not help to get the message "GPS: 3D Fix".


For the wiring we have tried the options on the Pixhawk 4 via the Telem1 or the UART & I2C as well as the GPS connection. But we don't know which is the right alternative? We suspect it, via the GPS module.

We have tried a lot and don't know what else to do to get "3D Fix". Do you have any experience with the Pixhawk 4 and the integration of the Marvelmind GPS with the Pixhawk 4? Does anyone have any ideas about what we're doing wrong or what we can try out to make progress?

Best regards,
Autodrone




Hello colleagues,

We will check once again what can be added or corrected. It may take some days, at least. But we will do.

Meanwhile, community, if you have good hints, please, share.

Kind regards,
Maxim

davasp
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2019 5:57 pm

Re: Integration Marvelmind and Pixhawk 4

Postby davasp » Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:30 pm

Hi all.

We are also stuck trying to integrate marvelmind but we're using a pixhawk 2.1 (cube). We've tried any possible parameter combination on the receiving end using both NMEA and Marvelmid protocols. We could never get a positon reading using MM protocol, even after setting serial comms to "beacon" and forcing beacon type to "Marvelmind", and disabling GPS use in both EKF and AHRS.

We can get position information using NMEA, albeit with EKF flags in Velocity and position using certain parameter settings, and "Bad GPS Health" using others. Position tracking shown in Mission Planner is very jumpy and inaccurate when we use the second settings, But it tracks very well when we use the former... however, having those EKF flags, it wont let us arm in auto/loiter mode.

Please let me know how can we help, any input will also be gratly appreciated.

David.


Return to “FAQ”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests